Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Alumni News > Welcome from the new Head, Sarah Capewell

Welcome from the new Head, Sarah Capewell

Meet Mrs Sarah Capewell, Classics teacher by trade and our new Head
19 Sep 2023
Alumni News

I am now nearing the end of my second week as Head of Stockport Grammar School and I can honestly say that it has been an absolute joy to be in school getting to know the pupils, parents and staff. I look forward to getting to know the Old Stopfordians too over the coming months and years. 

From my office, I can often hear the pupils chatting about the old school photos and the information boards that line the corridors around the Hallam Hall. It is a constant reminder to me of the history of the school. I can see that I am a very small part in the lifetime of Stockport Grammar School and that my role is to act as a steward to ensure the continued success of the school. 

I am a Classics teacher by trade, first studying at Edinburgh University for my undergraduate degree, before moving to Cambridge University to undertake my PGCE. Following a three year stint at Sevenoaks School in Kent, I moved to Felsted School in Essex as Head of Classics in 2008. Fifteen years later (and, by then, Deputy Head Academic at Felsted), I was delighted to be appointed as Head of Stockport Grammar School, a school that shares so many of my own values: academic aspiration and success; the importance of a broader education with a huge range of music, drama and sport opportunities (amongst others); and, perhaps most importantly, the focus on developing the character of each pupil.